How it came about

 

There has to come a time in life when you start to think,  I’m just getting a bit pissed off watching and hearing stories of all these things only other people do. A time where you stop yourself and think, actually, you know what, I’m going to do something about this, I’m going to do what others do…………..and so it all began.

In early January, I stumbled across a topic on the UKGS’er (yes I know, the shame of it) about a trip to Iceland, and thought…erm…that’s sounds the business, so without too much consideration I posted in the topic asking if this trip was full, without even considering what would actually be required to go, even if there was space. A couple of days later a reply came in saying, yes, there is a spot left, do you want to go….FUCK !!! my bluff has been called.

 

iceland

I was then asked to PM another guy about it, duly did and then, for what seemed like a lifetime, I had to wait on him getting back to me. 5 minutes had passed, and still no reply, a hour, nothing, 2 hours, nothing, home from work, nothing, it wasn’t until the back of 9 that evening I got a reply, fuck me, that was the longest day ever, was like a kid on Christmas Eve ffs. I mean look at what’s on offer……….

iceland2

The chap organising the trip then PM’d me and things started to move along. A phone call a few days later from him gave me the full story of what was involved to be part of this trip. Firstly it involves paying the man a deposit to book your place, that was duly done, I was IN. The next step was booking a flight for myself to get to Iceland, again, a fairly simple task, flights from Edinburgh to Reykjavik fly out every Thursday and returns are Sundays, again, these were duly booked. What I have conveniently missed out is, what about the bike ?? Well, the bike has to be shipped from Immingham docks by Grimsby, and it needs to be there two weeks before I fly and will return two weeks after I return, the logistics of which I haven’t fully nailed yet, but an obstacle that is easily overcome when the desire is there……

 

Leave a comment